The Executive Committee serves as the policy, planning and personnel committee for the Convention. The committee is comprised of 19 members and typically meets eight times a year.

The executive committee is to the board of directors what the board is to the convention – transacting all regular business in between the three sessions of the board. The executive committee has the responsibility to review, amend if necessary, and approve the Cooperative Program missions budget prepared by the budget special committee prior to presentation to the board in September. Final adoption of the budget, by a vote of the messengers, takes place during the annual meeting.

The Executive Committee is as follows:

  • 2 officers of the board (who fill the roles of chair and vice chair of the executive committee)
  • 3 officers of the BSCNC (president, first vice president, second vice president)
  • 8 committee chairs
  • 4 at-large members of the board (elected during January meeting of the board)
  • 1 president of North Carolina Baptists on Mission
  • 1 president of the North Carolina Baptist Associational Missions Conference

2023 Executive Committee Members

Board Officers
President — Zeb Cook
Vice President — Robert Hefner

BSCNC Officers
President — Jason Miller
First Vice President — James Allen Murray

Committee Chairs
Articles and Bylaws Special Committee — Luke Lunceford
Budget Special Committee — Aaron Wallace
Operations Special Committee — Andrew Clark
Christian Life and Public Affairs Special Committee — Justin Deeter
Convention Relations Special Committee — Aaron Swain
Mission Catalysts Committee — Lee Callicutt
Communications Committee — Jeff Dowdy
Ministry Strategies Committee — Matt Brogli

2023 At-Large
Betsy Bolick
Janet Demeny
Denise O’Donogue
Justin Alexander

Organization Presidents

North Carolina Baptists on Mission — Tim Etheridge
North Carolina Baptist Associational Missions Conference — Wesley Smith