Officers of the Baptist State Convention of North Carolina and Board of Directors serve on a voluntary basis to guide the ministry and missions efforts of the state convention.

Convention officers are elected by the messengers at the annual meeting for a one-year term, although they may serve two consecutive terms. The president presides over the deliberations of the convention when in session. Convention officers serve on various committees and subcommittees, some of which are as ex-officio voting members and others as ex-officio non-voting members. The board officers are elected by a majority vote of the board of directors. The president presides over the meetings of the board. The board officers serve as ex-officio voting members of all committees and subcommittees of the board, as well as the chair and vice chair of the executive committee.

Convention Officers

Jason Miller

Convention President

Jason Miller was elected convention 1st vice president for 2024 and stepped into the role of president effective April 1 upon the resignation of then president Quintell Hill who accepted a position with IMB. Jason Miller has served as pastor of Dutch Cove Missionary Baptist Church in Canton since 2013. Miller previously served as the convention’s second vice president in 2022. He has also served as a member of the state convention’s board of directors and on the Evangelism and Discipleship Committee. Miller is a graduate of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. He and his wife, Megan, have three children.

Allen Murray

Convention First Vice President

James Allen Murray was elected convention 2nd vice president for 2024 and, in accordance with the convention’s bylaws, moved to serve as 1st vice president, upon Jason Miller accepting the role of president. He has pastored Centerville Baptist Church in Kelly, N.C. since October 2018 and previously served as senior pastor at Oak Grove Baptist Church in Lake Toxaway and Cheerful Hope Baptist Church in Delco. Murray has served on the convention’s board of directors and chaired the Articles and Bylaws Special Committee. He also served as the 2022 N.C. Baptist Pastors’ Conference president. He studied at Fruitland Baptist Bible College and Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. Murray and his wife, Hope, have two daughters.

Steven Wade

Convention Second Vice President

In May of 2024, Dr. Steven Wade was elected by the convention’s board of directors to fill the vacancy of convention 2nd vice president. Dr. Wade currently serves as the lead pastor of Faith Baptist Church, Youngsville. He also serves as professor of Pastoral Theology at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. He earned a Bachelor of Arts, Anderson College; and a Master of Divinity and Doctor of Philosophy, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. Dr. Wade is married to Jenny, and they have four children.

Board Officers

Zeb Cook

Board President

Zeb Cook was elected to serve as vice president of the board of directors in September 2021 and was re-elected for a second term in September 2022. Upon the resignation of the board president in April of 2023, Cook became the board president. He previously served as chairman of the N.C. Baptist Budget Special Committee in 2021. Cook serves as lead pastor of Apex Baptist Church in Apex, N.C. Previously, he pastored in his home state of Florida. He was born in Gainesville, Florida, and was raised in a rural farm community called Newberry. Cook played college baseball and is an avid outdoorsman. He married his wife, Dayna, in 2005, and the Cooks have three children.

Robert Hefner

Board Vice President

Robert Hefner was elected in May 2023 to serve the unexpired VP term of Zeb Cook when he became the Board President. He began serving on the Board of Directors in January 2023, and he serves on the Budget Special Committee and the Convention Relations Special Committee. Robert has served as the Sr. Pastor at Pleasant Garden Baptist Church, in Pleasant Garden, NC since 2018. Located in the greater Greensboro area, Pleasant Garden has a healthy heritage of involvement with NC Baptist ministries and mission partnerships. Robert has spent the majority of his life in North Carolina, and he is the son of a retired NC Baptist pastor. He came to Pleasant Garden from Hendersonville, NC, where he served Mud Creek Baptist Church as the associate pastor and was on the faculty at Fruitland Baptist Bible College. He and his wife, Diana, have been married since 2003, and they have one son.